Team Foundation ServerTeam Foundation Server入门


备注

本节概述了tfs是什么,以及开发人员可能想要使用它的原因。

它还应该提到tfs中的任何大型主题,并链接到相关主题。由于tfs的文档是新的,您可能需要创建这些相关主题的初始版本。

安装或设置

有关设置或安装tfs的详细说明。

什么是TFS以及数据如何存储在其中?

Team Foundation Server(通常缩写为TFS)是一个Microsoft产品,提供源代码管理(通过Team Foundation版本控制或Git),报告,需求管理,项目管理(适用于敏捷软件开发和瀑布团队),自动构建和实验室管理,测试和发布管理功能。它涵盖整个应用程序生命周期。 TFS可用作众多集成开发环境的后端,但专为Microsoft Visual Studio和Eclipse量身定制。

好处:

  1. Team Foundation Server提供了一组与现有IDE或编辑器配合使用的协作工具,因此您的团队可以有效地处理各种形状和大小的软件项目。
  2. 使用无限的私有存储库存储和协作代码。使用Git进行分布式版本控制以最大化协作或使用Team Foundation版本控制(TFVC)进行集中版本控制。
  3. 支持AGILE方法
  4. 支持多种语言和IDE
  5. 允许第三方插件集成

TFS的类型:

  1. 线上
  2. 本地

在线由Microsoft的云平台Windows Azure提供支持,它不需要任何设置。用户使用Microsoft帐户登录以开始设置其帐户,创建项目和添加团队成员。在为期三周的开发周期中开发的新功能首先添加到在线版本中。这些功能以大约三个月的间隔迁移到本地版本作为更新。

Team Foundation Server将所有变更集数据存储在SQL Server数据库中。它完整​​地存储来自最新变更集的代码。然后它将diff存储到以前的版本。将它存储在SQL Server中的一个好处是它获得了由事务提供的“全部或全部”保存功能。 TFS的架构是集中的。这意味着所有源代码都保存在一个位置。在集中式体系结构中,TFS服务器本身可以被视为单点故障,但是在Windows Server操作系统中提供高可用性解决方案时,不一定如此。类似地,存储实际源代码位的SQL Server数据库可以镜像在多个服务器上。 TFS控件旨在与最新版本的Microsoft Visual Studio无缝集成。但是,这并不意味着您无法将TFS版本控制与其他软件开发产品一起使用。 TFS中的功能可分为以下几个方面。 基本功能 - 检入和检出文件锁定 - 限制并发编辑分支和合并 - 使用不同版本的源代码安全性 - 决定谁可以访问版本控制数据以及如何

任何版本控制系统的基本功能包括检入和退出文件。为了支持并发性,TFS允许对同一文件进行多次检出,但如果需要,可以禁用此功能。项目也可以独占锁定,以便其他人无法在锁定文件时签入或签出文件。如果在团队项目设置中禁用了并发签出,则在签出时会自动在文件上放置锁定。分支和合并可以被认为是TFS中的高级功能,但是它们非常有用。分支的主要思想是获取一组源代码文件并从这些文件创建不同的版本。分支代码可以与原始源文件分开存在。例如,如果您正在开发通用应用程序但需要为某个客户制作专用版本,则可以从主源控制树(“主干”)分支客户自定义。如果需要以后出现,您可以再次将自定义代码与原始源控制线组合在一起。这称为合并。 TFS中的所有内容(Active Directory用户权限版本控制除外)都存储在中央SQL Server数据库中。这包括团队项目设置,文件数据,变更集详细信息等。由于几乎所有内容都位于中心位置,因此必须确保定期备份SQL数据库并制定灾难恢复计划。要了解如何将版本控制集成到Microsoft Visual Studio中,您需要了解三个单独的窗口(或窗格,具体取决于您的观点):Source Control Explorer,Solution Explorer和Pending Changes窗口。连接到Team Foundation Server实例后,解决方案资源管理器将允许您通过右键单击项目直接从窗口签出和签入文件。但是,默认情况下,只需在Visual Studio中开始编辑文件时就会发生签出。例如,如果您在编辑器中打开C#源代码文件并开始输入,则会检出该文件。这通常是检查文件最方便的方法。解决方案资源管理器窗口显示的小图标可帮助您区分已锁定,已签出和已添加的文件,等等。蓝色锁定图标表示文件是源代码管理的一部分,但当前未签出。红色复选标记表示文件已签出,黄色加号表示文件已添加到项目中。在TFS中,检出操作和获取最新版本的操作是彼此分开的。实际上,这意味着在签出文件之前,您应该对要签出的文件执行“获取最新”命令。只需右键单击解决方案资源管理器中的项目,然后选择“获取最新”菜单项即可完成此操作。若要更改此默认行为,可以选择Microsoft Visual Studio的“工具/选项”菜单命令,然后导航到“源代码管理/ Visual Studio Team Foundation Server”部分。从这里,您可以找到名为“在结账时获取项目的最新版本”的选项。源代码控制窗口允许您获得版本控制树的更全面视图。下面是源控件资源管理器窗口(当前已断开连接)。

要打开窗口,请选择“查看/其他Windows /源代码管理资源管理器”菜单命令,或双击Visual Studio的“团队资源管理器”窗口中的“源代码管理”节点。 Source Control Explorer窗口允许您查看和操作版本控制树中的文件。您可以通过此窗口执行与在解决方案资源管理器中执行的操作相同的所有操作:例如,您可以签入和签出文件,重命名,删除文件等。不同之处在于使用Source Control Explorer窗口,您使用的文件不需要是Visual Studio开发项目的一部分,例如C#项目。例如,您可以将Excel电子表格添加到版本控制;这是您可能不希望通过解决方案资源管理器执行的操作。每当您使用版本控制下的文件并编辑,添加或删除它们时,Visual Studio都不会立即将更改提交回版本控制。相反,只有在检查更改时才会执行此操作。与此同时,默认情况下,所有更改都存储在挂起的更改列表中,可以通过Pending Changes窗口查看。

Pending Changes窗口显示尚未签入的文件列表。该窗口还指示所请求的操作(添加,编辑,删除或重命名)。通常,您通过此窗口进行签到,因为它允许您在一次操作中方便地签入多个文件。您还可以编写注释以附带已签入的文件,并且可以使用这些文件链接到Team Foundation Server工作项。总的来说,一个或多个源文件,可选注释和工作项关联共同形成一个变更集。 TFS中的变更集始终以原子方式进行检查,这意味着完成集在签入中成功或失败。变更集与唯一ID相关联,稍后可以通过Source Control Explorer窗口查看。在TFS版本控制中,变更集是一个基本概念,因为它是系统可以处理的最小变更集。变更集可以包含单个文件或一组文件。此外,它是报告的基础,尤其是与工作项目一起使用时。

Getting started with Team Foundation Server

Download tfs eBook

Remarks

This section provides an overview of what tfs is, and why a developer might want to use it.

It should also mention any large subjects within tfs, and link out to the related topics. Since the Documentation for tfs is new, you may need to create initial versions of those related topics.

Installation or Setup

Detailed instructions on getting tfs set up or installed.

What is TFS and how Data is stored in it?

Team Foundation Server (commonly abbreviated to TFS) is a Microsoft product that provides source code management (either via Team Foundation Version Control or Git), reporting, requirements management, project management (for both agile software development and waterfall teams), automated builds and lab management, testing and release management capabilities. It covers the entire application lifecycle. TFS can be used as a back end to numerous integrated development environments but is tailored for Microsoft Visual Studio and Eclipse.

ADVANTAGES:

  1. Team Foundation Server provides a set of collaboration tools that work with your existing IDE or editor, so your team can work effectively on software projects of all shapes and sizes.
  2. Store and collaborate on code with unlimited private repositories. Use Git for distributed version control to maximize collaboration or use Team Foundation version control (TFVC) for centralized version control.
  3. Support for AGILE methodology
  4. Support for multiple languages and IDE
  5. Allows third party plugin integration

TYPES of TFS:

  1. Online
  2. On-premises

Online is backed by Microsoft’s cloud platform, Windows Azure and it does not require any setup. A user logs in using a Microsoft Account to begin setting up their account, creating projects and adding team members. New features developed in three-week development cycles are added to the online version first. These features migrate to the on-premises version as updates, at approximately three-month intervals.

Team Foundation Server stores all the changeset data in a SQL Server Database. It stores the code from the most recent changeset in its entirety. It then stores a diff to the previous version. One of the benefits of storing it all in SQL Server is that it gains the "all or none" saving capability that is provided by transactions. The architecture of TFS is centralized. This means all source code is maintained at a single location. In a centralized architecture the TFS server itself can be considered a single point of failure, but with high-availability solutions available in the Windows Server operating system, this does not need to be so. Similarly, the SQL Server database storing the actual source code bits can be mirrored on multiple servers. TFS control has been designed to integrate seamlessly with the latest versions of Microsoft Visual Studio. However, this does not mean that you could not use TFS version control with other software development products. The functionality in TFS can be divided into the following areas.  Basic functionality - checking files in and out  Locking - limiting concurrent edits  Branching and merging - work with different versions of the source code  Security - decide who can access the version control data and how

The basic functionality in any version control system includes checking file in and out. To support concurrency, TFS allows multiple checkouts of the same file, but this can be disabled should the need arise. Items can also be exclusively locked so that nobody else can check in or out a file while it is locked. If concurrent checkouts are disabled in team project settings, then a lock is automatically placed on the file upon checkout. Branching and merging can be considered advanced functions in TFS, but nonetheless, they are highly useful. The main idea of branching is to take a set of source code files and create a distinct version from those files. The branched code can live a life of its own separate from the original source files. For instance, if you are developing a generic application but need to make a specialized version for a certain customer, you could branch the customer customizations from the main source control tree (the "trunk"). Should the need arise later, you can again combine the customization code with the original source control line. This is called merging. Everything in TFS (except Active Directory user rights version control) are stored in a central SQL Server database. This includes team project settings, file data, changeset details, and so on. Because almost everything is in a central location, it is imperative to make sure you take regular backups of the SQL database(s) and have a disaster recovery plan. To understand how version control is integrated into Microsoft Visual Studio, you need to be aware of three separate windows (or panes, depending on your point of view): the Source Control Explorer, Solution Explorer and Pending Changes windows. When you have connected to a Team Foundation Server instance, Solution Explorer will allow you to check out and check in files directly from the window by right-clicking the items. However, by default a check out occurs simply when you start editing a file in Visual Studio. For instance, if you open a C# source code file in the editor and start typing, the file is checked out. This is often the most convenient way to check out files. Small icons shown by the Solution Explorer window help you distinguish between locked, checked out and added files, and so forth. A blue lock icon indicates that a file is part of source control but is not currently checked out. A red check mark indicates that the file has been checked out, and a yellow plus sign indicates that a file has been added to the project. In TFS, a check out operation and the operation to get the latest version are separate from each other. In practice, this means that before checking out a file, you should execute a "Get Latest" command on the file(s) you wish to check out. This can be done by simply right-clicking an item in Solution Explorer, and choosing the Get Latest menu item. To change this default behavior, you can choose Microsoft Visual Studio's Tools/Options menu command, and navigate to the section Source Control/Visual Studio Team Foundation Server. From here, you can find an option named "Get latest version of item on check out". The source control window allows you to get a more holistic view of your version control tree. Below is the source control explorer window (currently disconnected).

To open the window, choose the View/Other Windows/Source Control Explorer menu command, or double-click the Source Control node in Visual Studio's Team Explorer window. The Source Control Explorer window allows you to view and manipulate files in your version control tree. You can do all the same operations through this window than you could do in Solution Explorer: for instance, you can check in and out files, rename them, delete them, and so on. The difference is that using the Source Control Explorer window, the files you work with do not need to be part of a Visual Studio development project, such as a C# project. For example, you could add an Excel spreadsheet to version control; this is something that you might not want to do through Solution Explorer. Whenever you work with files under version control and edit, add or delete them, Visual Studio will not immediately commit the changes back to version control. Instead, this is done only when you check the changes in. In the meantime, all your changes are by default stored in a pending changes list, which can be seen through the Pending Changes window.

The Pending Changes window shows a list of files that have not been checked in. The window also indicates the operation (add, edit, delete or rename) requested. Usually, you do your check-ins through this window, since it allows you to conveniently check in multiple files in a single operation. You can also write a comment to accompany the checked in files, and you can link to a Team Foundation Server work item with the files. Overall, one or more source files, optional comments and work item associations collectively form a changeset. A changeset in TFS is always checked in atomically, which means that the complete set either succeeds or fails in the check in. A changeset is associated with a unique ID, and can be later viewed for example through the Source Control Explorer window. In TFS version control, a changeset is an essential concept because it is the smallest set of changes that the system can process. A changeset can contain a single file, or a set of files. Furthermore, it is the basis of reporting, especially when used together with work items.

Stats

79 Contributors: 3
Friday, October 21, 2016
Licensed under: CC-BY-SA

Not affiliated with Stack Overflow
Rip Tutorial: info@zzzprojects.com

Download eBook