Java Language Logging (java.util.logging) Logging levels


Java Logging Api has 7 levels. The levels in descending order are:

  • SEVERE (highest value)
  • INFO
  • FINE
  • FINEST (lowest value)

The default level is INFO (but this depends on the system and used a virtual machine).

Note: There are also levels OFF (can be used to turn logging off) and ALL (the oposite of OFF).

Code example for this:

import java.util.logging.Logger;

public class Levels {
    private static final Logger logger = Logger.getLogger(Levels.class.getName());

    public static void main(String[] args) {

        logger.severe("Message logged by SEVERE");
        logger.warning("Message logged by WARNING");"Message logged by INFO");
        logger.config("Message logged by CONFIG");
        logger.fine("Message logged by FINE");
        logger.finer("Message logged by FINER");
        logger.finest("Message logged by FINEST");

        // All of above methods are really just shortcut for
        // public void log(Level level, String msg):
        logger.log(Level.FINEST, "Message logged by FINEST");

By default running this class will output only messages with level higher then CONFIG:

Jul 23, 2016 9:16:11 PM LevelsExample main
SEVERE: Message logged by SEVERE
Jul 23, 2016 9:16:11 PM LevelsExample main
WARNING: Message logged by WARNING
Jul 23, 2016 9:16:11 PM LevelsExample main
INFO: Message logged by INFO